Jharkhand Assembly Polls starts today

The counting of votes for Jharkhand assembly polls starts on Monday morning amid the tight security. The counting day of the Jharkhand Assembly Polls is finally here and fate of former chief minister and JMM leader Hemant Soren, and two state ministers will be decided today.

latest update in Election Commission website shows that the Opposition alliance is leading in 42 seats and BJP is leading in 28 seats.


Jharkhand Assembly Polls Results
Jharkhand Assembly Polls Results

State went to polls starting on November 30 and was spread across the five phases with last phase of polling held on December 20. Approximate voter Turnout for all 81 ACs spread across all the five phases of Jharkhand was 65.17%.

Among phase 1, there are 13 assembly constituencies that went to poll, and during the voting process for 20 seats were done in second phase. The third phase of Jharkhand elections, was held on December 12 that saw polling in 17 seats and 15 assembly constituencies went to poll in phase 4, whereas remaining 16 seats went to poll in last and fifth phase on December 20.

Main political parties in the fray are Congress, BJP, JMM, AJSU, RJD, JVM-P.

BJP won 37 seats in the last assembly poll in 2014 and did an alliance with AJSU and won 5 seats to form the government, however both of these parties broke ties and fought separately in these elections.

Tenure of current assembly will end on 5th January 2020 and opposition alliance’s lead crosses magic figure of 41.

Jharkhand CM Raghubar Dasfurther said,”these trends are not the final word. There are more rounds of counting to be held. It will not be correct to comment on these trends. I will hold a press conference later in Ranchi.”

Jharkhand CM Raghubar Das& BJP candidate from Jamshedpur East: Had Saryu Rai caused damage, I would not have received the votes, which I did so far. Let me clearly state that we’re not only winning but we’ll also form govt under the leadership of BJP in the state.